top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristy Hildebrand

What is Environmentally Friendly Art?

One day I kept seeing a vision of terracotta colored powder in my mind. Finally after hours of picturing this I did a Google Search which led me to natural pigments in the earth. I was so intrigued! For the last 15 years I've loved learning all the Earth has to provide naturally! It's amazing the treasures of health remedies that are found in our beautiful planet. The more I research, the more my mind is blown.

But to PAINT with ingredients found in the Earth? I mean, why I had I never even thought about this! As artists we must dump so much chemicalized (is that a word?!) materials into the ground, not to mention the chemicals and waste that go into the air when paints are created. AND not to mention that when we paint it goes onto our skin and we breathe it in. (Well I guess I mentioned it!)

So that's a nope for me! I'm learning what the world provides for me to create beautiful, long-lasting art that will benefit the Earth and our bodies rather than destroy them!

It's a journey for sure and not a destination! I won't judge myself as I haven't embraced it in every way yet and maybe never will. But it's a journey I'm willing to go on and get deeper into with every next day!

23 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page